Peace Sells

January 2, 2013

Peace is possible”  — Mattie J.T. Stepanek

***

I’ve had the song, ‘Peace Sells…  But who’s buying?‘  by Megadeth playing in my head over and over the past few nights. Sometimes the only way to get songs out of my head is to write about them.

Megadeth

I never really listened to heavy metal and ‘Peace Sells‘ is probably one of the only songs I know from the band. There is no doubt that there is artistry in this song and I respect their artistic expression. Many comment that Dave Mustaine is genius and has contributed much to the art of heavy metal. I’m an admirer of anyone who follows their dreams and is passionate about the work they do.

As I reviewed the lyrics (found them on Lyrics Freak website) I thought about a few things:

Judgement, Anger, Criticism…  Freedom possibly?

My interpretation of the song:  Why on earth would one buy into a society’s definition of ‘Peace’ when all that is felt is condemnation.  The anger is apparent and change won’t happen if those around him refuse to change. Below are a few lines from the song:

If there’s a new way
I’ll be the first in line…

….Can you put a price on peace?

As the song replayed in my head (over and over), an inspiring story I read about a young boy and his pursuit to share the message of peace with the world came to mind.

A few years ago I read and blogged about Mattie J.T. Stepanek after reading about him in ‘Messenger‘ written by his mother, Jeni Stepanek. (See blog here.)

There are two sides to every coin. I don’t want to ignore the injustices that take place in this world, but it’s much more freeing for me to focus on what I can do to contribute to the world in a positive way. Every one is motivated differently and perhaps one story, person or song might speak more to you than another.

200573103-001

I wish you a peaceful day, week, year and so on. May you find inspiration in everything around you.

Sincerely,

Lena Jácome

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

