The Truth Shall Set You Free

November 29, 2012

“I pretty much try to stay in a constant state of confusion just because of the expression it leaves on my face”  —- Johnny Depp

I thought sweet potatoes were orange and the one basic difference between the yam was more about texture. I got into a discussion at my local farmer’s market because I had been so confused, “Aren’t sweet potatoes orange in the middle?”. Well guess what? I bought some organic sweet potatoes that were pale yellow in the middle….  they were sweet and delicious…. A little piece of heaven on earth! After spending some time on the internet I found a site that discusses the differences: Sweet Potato VS. Yam. The below information was taken from The Cook’s Thesaurus:

sweet potato  Notes:   In American supermarkets, sweet potatoes are displayed next to something called “yams,” which are moister than sweet potatoes and have darker skins.  But according to the rest of the world (and botanists), we have it all wrong.  To them, our  “yams” are just a variety of sweet potatoes.  They use the word yam to describe a completely different vegetable, something we call a tropical yam.

Sweet potatoes are quite versatile, but they’re most often baked, candied, or made into pies.  It’s best not to boil them, as they’ll lose much of their flavor.

Substitutes:  yams (less mealy and sweeter than sweet potato) OR boniato (less sweet and fluffier) OR mashed cooked pumpkin (especially for pies).

 

If I haven’t confused you more then I don’t know what will…. You’re Welcome!

Above – Me in my confused state!

Sincerely,

Lena Jácome

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

