Unraveled

November 28, 2012

“There will be a few times in your life when all your instincts will tell you to do something, something that defies logic, upsets your plans, and may seem crazy to others. When that happens, you do it. Listen to your instincts and ignore everything else. Ignore logic, ignore the odds, ignore the complications, and just go for it.” — Judith McNaught

When I spend time worrying about what others think, it limits me. I lose focus and I’m unable to stay true to what feels right. And sometimes this insecurity just sneaks up on me, ultimately causing me to end up at a roadblock and being completely baffled on how I got there. Not good. I’ve lost me somewhere along the way.

It can happen with the smallest things. Sometimes I’ll be half-way through a decision when I realize, “No, this isn’t what I want.” Sometimes I only become aware when I’m reflecting on my day, either through journaling or meditation.  For me, this practice provides clarity and answers the ‘how’ and ‘why’ of my choices.

I guess what I’m trying to say is that everything is a practice: Being happy, forgiveness, eating healthy, honing one’s skills. The list goes on and on. And it takes work. Sometimes it may seem easier to go along with ‘the crowd’ and go against your instincts, but it ends up causing more problems in the end.

I know this: The more you practice honoring ‘you’ the easier it gets.

Sincerely,

Lena Jácome

Enhanced by Zemanta
One Response to “Unraveled”

Leave a Reply

