Wherever I May Roam

November 22, 2012

“It takes courage to grow up and become who you really are.” —- E.E. Cummings

I used to think that something was wrong with me because I didn’t want to go into a career like everyone else around me. Even in graduate school as a dance major, I’m sure that I looked ‘lost’ to some. Most would say that the entire purpose of spending so much time in education would obviously mean that I’d want to teach in an institutional setting. Please don’t get me wrong, I love to teach. But, somehow, becoming a full-time instructor right out of school didn’t ‘feel right’ for me. And I did think that something was wrong with me at the time…. and I did teach dance within the community colleges for a while. I gained some great experience in doing so, however, my passion was for the stage; for travel; and teaching wherever I may roam.

 

With this type of lifestyle came many unknowns and some raised eyebrows; yet it ‘felt right’ and to this day, I’m very happy and fulfilled. Every time I get home from another traveling adventure I’m excited to begin the next project and my creative juices pave the way. I normally feel inspired by what I learned, what I experienced and who I met. My heart is satisfied and filled.

 

It took me a while to get here and yet, I’m still figuring out the path. There are many goals that I have yet to realize, but I see them as if they are in my grasp. I look back on the past and recognize that I didn’t have a solid plan, but I knew what made me happy. Somehow I had the courage to ‘listen’ to that inner knowing that seems to always have the answer.

 

I’m proud of the life I live. I believe it takes courage to live out your dreams and follow your heart.

Sincerely,

Lena Jácome

Enhanced by Zemanta
One Response to “Wherever I May Roam”

Leave a Reply

