Memento

October 13, 2012

I’m not really a jewelry person. I wear jewelry for performances, but otherwise I don’t. My husband purchased some beautiful red earrings for me recently and I love them. This isn’t something he’s done often in the time that I’ve known him. He purchased them from Las Cruces, New Mexico. Being a New Mexican, born and raised, they’re even more special to me. I wear them often when I perform. Not for good luck, but because they mean a lot to me. They were a special gift.

I also carry two quarters with me in my jewelry case. Mementos. My dad used to collect quarters at one time and gave me one many years ago. I keep it with me always. It’s there to remind me that he’s always with me wherever I go. I know what you’re thinking.  That’s very sweet…. well, it is sweet.

The other quarter I keep with me because on the back there’s an image of Helen Keller who I find to be extremely inspiring. This quarter centers me. To me, Helen Keller symbolizes strength, perseverance, integrity and hope. These are all qualities I aspire to reflect in my own life.

Sincerely,

Lena Jácome

Enhanced by Zemanta
2 Responses to “Memento”

  1. […] carry around a quarter with her image on it when I travel. I wrote about her briefly in my blog, ‘Memento’. My favorite time of day is when the sun is setting. So, the image and quote below felt quite […]

Leave a Reply

