Live and Let Live

October 12, 2012

I have this friend. She’s a great friend and we are very close. So close that I refer to her as family. Now, I care a lot about this friend, who we’ll call Jan. Jan is warm, loving and very thoughtful. She’s always concerned about the welfare of others and she genuinely has a giving heart. As a friend, I have concerns for her. She neglects her own health and her own needs. This saddens me and at times frustrates me. I’ve tried to talk to her about getting help. I can see the destructive behavior and well… I love Jan and I want the best for her. I don’t like to see her in pain.

Jan doesn’t like what I have to say. It really upsets her to hear my concerns. What I realize is that Jan is on her own path. Although I have a deep desire to help Jan, the best that I can do right now is to accept her and her journey.

What I can also do is be good to myself and find joy in my journey.

Sincerely,

Lena Jácome

Leave a Reply

