Labor in the 4th Degree

May 1, 2008

Dakota Dragon

Dakota Dragon

Dakota

Dakota

So I was hanging out with a friend for lunch yesterday and we starting talking about babies, you know, the brand new little people with the soft skin and cute expressions. The conversation took me back to the time when my younger sister gave birth to her now almost four year old son. I was in the delivery room with her. Most of my friends had told me it would be a magical experience, “It’s the miracle of life!” My sister was in labor for about 26 hours or so & it was the most traumatizing experience for me!! I thought she handled it very well. I was nauseous, dizzy and wanted the whole thing to just end. “Put the woman out of her misery!!!” Some of that day is blurred… a survival mechanism, but I remember thinking very strongly that day: I will never impose this kind of deliberate pain on myself… Do I feel terrible saying this, “No.” Why? Because I’m not ashamed to admit that the entire experience scared the living hell out of me. Don’t get me wrong, I feel very privileged that she even wanted to share the experience with me & my nephew is cute & his skin is soft and… well you know, the adorable expressions…. I mean just re-telling the experience to my friend got me flustered. It’s left quite an impression on me…. for life.

Leave a Reply

